art

A cHAIR Raising Experience

What is so exciting about a chair? Honestly, I have no idea but when I heard about a call to artists for “Chair: Group Art Show,” inspiration hit and I spent the whole week sketching, drawing, prepping my silk screens and getting to work! It had been years since I entered an art show and my nervousness kicked in. Because I work at a local arts magazine, I have been to countless events and interviewed artists and admired work that was far better than my own. Will my work be good enough?

I chose screen printing because, putting it simply, I love it – the whole process. I love the feel of a fresh screen against my finger tips, mixing the photo sensitive emulsion and painting it on the screen, and MOST OF ALL: running through my basement to get my now light sensitive screen into an old fridge to dry (I call the fridge Mr. Darkroom). Then I start with the exposure process, hanging up lights and pulley systems that defy the laws of physics. After the screen is complete, the most time consuming part (for me) begins: making the perfect print.

How much paint should I put on? How much pressure should I use? Is it following the grain of the fabric? In the end, after two dozen practice prints – the final print is ready to be made. I act like I am diffusing a bomb, holding fragile glass, or changing a baby’s diaper without waking it up. Then I am finally done and after a week of planning, gathering materials, and printing – I clean the screen and put it away for future use and the only evidence of that screen is in the final print.

And I loved every minute of it.

Me with my "If Chairs Could Fly" prints on paper and my handmade dupioni silk pillows. On display a Arcworks Community Art Center

Me with my “If Chairs Could Fly” prints on paper and my handmade dupioni silk pillows. On display a Arcworks Community Art Center in my own little corner.

DSCN0053

“If Chairs Could Fly” paper prints. Butterfly and Bird.

"If Chairs Could Fly" prints on handmade dupioni silk pillows. Bird and Butterfly.

“If Chairs Could Fly” prints on handmade dupioni silk pillows. Bird and Butterfly.

The “CHAIR: Group Art Show ” is on display at Arcworks Community Art Center in Peabody, Massachuetts. The show is up from February 13 to April 12, 2013.

Type a Line

